Women and Gender Studies Associate Faculty

The Women and Gender Studies Associate faculty work in conjunction with the core faculty to promote a strong and interdisciplinary community of scholars. They meet regularly to discuss program issues, serve on program committees, and participate in program events. Their research interests touch on a wide range of issues pertaining to the study of women, gender, and sexuality studies. We are honored to include them in our WGST family!

Jennifer Bair

Associate Professor, Sociology
Interests:
Political Economy, Economic Sociology, Sex and Gender, Comparative and Global Sociology, Latin America and the Caribbean
Ketchum Hall 214
Phone: (303) 735-2389
Jennifer.Bair@colorado.edu
Homepage

Joanne Belknap

Professor, Sociology
Interests
: Sociology of Gender; Criminology & Deviance, Intimate partner abuse, sexual victimization, incarceration of women and girls, criminal legal policy, and feminist criminology
Ketchum 210 / IBS Room 351
Phone: (303) 492-6924 / (303) 735-2182
Joanne.Belknap@colorado.edu
Homepage

Scarlet Bowen

Director, GLBTQ Resource Center
Interests:
Queer Studies, Female Masculinity, Queering Heterosexuality, laboring-class gender and sexuality
C4C N450-B
Phone: (303) 492-2966
scarlet.bowen@colorado.edu
Biography

Lee Chambers

Associate Professor, History
Interests: American Women’s History, Nineteenth Century Social and Cultural History
Hellems 222
Phone: (303) 492-5809
Lee.Chambers@Colorado.edu

Bud Coleman

Associate Professor, Department Chair, Theatre & Dance
Interests:Theatre history, musical theatre, theatre directing and choreography, GLBTQ Studies, and the performance of gender
Phone: 303-492-5809
bud.coleman@colorado.edu
Homepage

Anne Costain

Professor Emeritus, Political Science
Interests: 
American politics, politics of social movements, political parties and interest groups, gender politics, the media and political messages
Phone: (303) 492-7871
costain@colorado.edu
Homepage

Michaele Ferguson

Associate Professor, Political Science
Interests:
political theory, democratic theory, feminist theory, postfoundationalist theory, the politics of rhetoric, neoliberalism, contemporary U.S. politics, multiculturalism, feminist politics, women’s rights, sexuality, queer theory, critical theory
Ketchum 105
Phone: (303) 492-6595
michaele.ferguson@colorado.edu
Homepage

Lisa Flores

Associate Professor, Communication
Interests:
Critical race studies, whiteness, masculinity, gender, feminist criticism, queer theory
lisa.flores@colorado.edu
Homepage

Donna Goldstein

Associate Professor, Anthropology
Interests:
Intersection of Race, Gender, Poverty & Violence in Brazil; Impoverished domestic workers; Pharmaceutical politics, bioethics, regulation, and neoliberalism in Argentina, Mexico, Brazil and the United States
HALE 445
Phone: (303) 492-5484
Donna.Goldstein@colorado.edu
Homepage

Kira Hall

Associate Professor, Political Science
Interests:
Sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology including language and gender, language and ethnicity, bilingualism and code-switching, the ethnography of speaking and performance, computer-mediated communication, narrative and identity, discourse analysis, language and nationalism
Hellems 284
Phone: (303) 492-2912
kira.hall@colorado.edu
Homepage

Kwame Holmes

Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies
Phone: (303) 492-8852
kwame.holmes@colorado.edu
Homepage

Penelope Kelsey

Associate Professor, English
Interests:
Native American Literature, Native American Film, Native American Visual Traditions, Native American Writing Systems, Native American Epistemologies, Native American Languages, Comparative Indigenous Studies, US Ethnic Literatures, Ethnicity and Disability, Multiracial Representations
Hellems 120
Phone: (303) 492-6773
penelope.kelsey@colorado.edu
Homepage

Danika Medak-Saltzman

Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies
Interests:
Visual culture, Native histories, Red feminisms, cultural studies, comparative Japan/US colonial histories, Native film and speculative fiction
Ketchum 22A
danika.medak-saltzman@colorado.edu
Homepage

Sanyu Mojola

Assistant Professor, Sociology
Interests: Population, Sociology of Health, Gender, Love and Money, The Life Course and African/Asian Demography
Ketchum 208
Phone: (303) 492-7080
sanyu.mojola@colorado.edu
Homepage

Hillary Potter

Associate Professor, Ethnic Studies
Interests: 
Black feminist criminology, racialized perceptions of crime, intimate partner violence, and qualitative research methods
Ketchum Hall 211
Phone: (303) 492-8864
hillary.potter@colorado.edu
Homepage

David Shneer

Professor, History ; Director, Jewish Studies
Interests:
Russian Jewish history, Yiddish culture, Jews and sexuality, diaspora studies, Holocaust Studies
UCLUB 216
Phone: (303) 492-7145
david.shneer@colorado.edu
Homepage

Beverly Weber

Beverly Weber Associate Professor, German and Slavic
Interests:
Cultural studies; Comparative Literature; Race, gender, and migration; post 1945 literature; Islam in Europe.
McKenna 221
Phone: (303) 492-2604
Beverly.weber@colorado.edu
Homepage

Christine Yoshinaga-Itano

Professor, Speech, Language & Hearing Science
Interests:
Research on women and infants related to health care and disabilities, with an emphasis on children who are deaf or hard of hearing; investigates issues related to the role of socio-economic factors on parenting, maternal bonding, parental (mostly mothers’) language use and children’s development; parenting issues of minority populations within the US, including those who speak a native language other than English in the home, as well as on a global level where countries are attempting to establish universal newborn hearing screening programs throughout the world.
Ketchum 105
Phone: (303) 492-6595
christie.yoshi@colorado.edu
Biography